Workflow on VPC

17 09 2009

Just finished creating a VPC with clients application and database on it. Yes I probably could have found a template VPC with everything including workflow already setup on it, but then I wouldn’t have been able to know what exactly what was going on to make everything function correctly.

My basic steps were:
1) Get VPC from friendly systems administrator with PreLoaded Client AOS and Database
1.1) Cleared out my business connector user in AX.
2) Setup Active Directory – Had to rename my virtual PC name because it had a _ in the name.
3) Create all the users needed for testing on my new Active Directory Domain and assign them the necessary rights
3.1) Modify in SQL my admin’s SSID and domain, so that i could get into the system again.
4) Uninstall the Business Connector that was originally installed (and workflow if it was as well)
5) Reinstall Business Connector
6) Reinstall workflow using the correct business connector account and domain
7 ) Change my services permissions on my AOS so that it could authenticate correctly to the Workflow Website
8 ) Restarted AOS and ran Workflow Infrastructure configuration wizard
9 ) Imported the remaining users (apart from myself) into AX.

Sadly this took me many an hour to figure out and I’m probably forgetting a few things that i did and am very vague on the rest, but hopefully it will help for any further VPC setups.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

